Caerleon Order Support Stations

Defending Sovereign, Church, and Country from the Forces of Darkness

The purpose of the main stations is to review and process intelligence. However, they are also tasked with dealing with local threats and providing support for local Caerleon Order operations. Even so, none are big enough to hold a whole battlegroup. Castles Bethmoira and Connarath, and Caerleon Hall have only a platoon of troops plus a few land vehicles, watercraft, and helicopters; Denver House and the Tyrone Mansion have even smaller contingents than that. To house and maintain all the equipment The Order possesses, as well as the battlegroup that uses them, additional stations dedicated to support had to be established.

Locations of Support Stations in Norfolk [Download] Click on a location to learn more.

At present there are four such stations. Aircraft not assigned to specific main stations are kept at the Royal Air Force Station outside of Marham in Norfolk. Similarly, the bulk of the land vehicles is kept at Castle Camdel in Cambridgeshire, along with the bulk of troops assigned to the battlegroup. Most watercraft are portable and are more or less evenly distributed between the various main stations, with extras stored at Camdel Castle, but two RTK 508 combat support boats and HMS Devastator, an Archer Class patrol vessel, are kept at the Cromer Lifeboat Station in Norfolk. Two additional vehicles, the Britannia Class command cruiser airship HMA Britannic and the Point Class sealift ship MV Winterton Ness are stationed at Scapa Flow in the Orkney Islands north of Scotland, though the sealift ship normally operates out of King's Lynn in Norfolk.

Of these four stations, only two—Castle Camdel and the airship complex at Scapa Flow—are run by the Order. RAF Matham is operated by the Royal Air Force and the Cromer Lifeboat Station by the Royal National Lifeboat Institution. However, Order personnel are stationed at Marham and Cromer, and while they participate in the day-to-day activities, they can at the discretion of the Order Director be assigned to Order operations at a moment's notice.

Norwich — The regional administrative centre and county town of Norfolk. It is governed by a City Council presided over by a Lord Mayor assisted by a Sheriff. Its economy is primarily devoted to the service and entertainment industries, and is a major shopping destination, with a town market dating back to the 11th century. It is the home of East Anglia University, and is a popular arts and tourism center. Though the area had been settled by Britons and Romans, the city was established by the Anglo-Saxons in the mid-7th century. It served as a major trade center for East Anglia and was the largest city in England after London in the 11th century. Until the late-18th century the city's main source of wealth was wool and cloth, but new industries came in as these declined. However, these declined during the 1980s and 90s as the service industries took precedence. [Back]

Great Yarmouth — The name derives from its location on the mouth of the River Yare. It is governed by the council for the Borough of Great Yarmouth. Its economy was primarily devoted to fishing but in the 1960s switched to oil and later natural gas and renewable energy. It is a major tourist destination, with a seafront known as "The Golden Mile" and access to the Norfolk Broads's network of rivers and lakes, and has one of the largest markets in England. It has a lifeboat station that has operated for over 200 years. Though the area has been settled since Roman times and before, the town was chartered by King John in 1208. It is one of two ports in Norfolk that Sir Differel Van Helsing uses to house her personal yachts when they are not in use. [Back]

King's Lynn — Its name means the "king's tenure", indicating the land was owned by the king who granted others the right to live and work on it. It is governed by the council for the Borough of King's Lynn and West Norfolk. It is a center for the fishing and seafood industry, it possesses a number of other small industries, and has the fastest growing port in Great Britain, capable of handling a wide variety dry and liquid bulk cargo. It is the home port for the Point Class sealift ship MV Winterton Ness. It is also the primary retail center for West Norfolk. It is the home of the College of West Anglia, hosts the King's Lynn Festival or the Arts, and the Festival Too music festival. It is one of two ports in Norfolk that Sir Differel uses to house her personal yachts when they are not in use. It was established in 1101 when a local bishop authorized the establishment of a market. During the 14th century it was the third most important port after Southampton and London, but this importance began to wane after the discovery of the Americas favored the western ports. However, wine imports from Europe and coastal trade kept the port open. In the mid 17th century the surrounding fens were drained for farmland and by the late 17th century the shipbuilding industry was established. [Back]

Thetford — Its name means the "people's ford". It is governed by a town council presided over by a mayor. Its economy is primarily devoted to agriculture that supports a market, but mostly it depends on tourism. It is the birthplace of Thomas Paine. Once surrounded by the Breckland, it now supports Thetford Forest, the largest lowland pine forest in Great Britain. The area has been inhabited at least since Neolithic times, as evidenced by archaeological sites, and it is believed to have been the royal residence of Boudica, Queen of the Iceni. It is the location of the Thetford Treasure, a hoard of Romano-British metalwork. It was the home of the Anglo-Saxon monarchs of the Kingdom of East Anglia. It has numerous ruins of motte-and-bailey castles, priories, and churches. [Back]

Foxley Wood — The largest ancient woodland in Norfolk, over 6000 years old. Many of the plantings used to establish the forest on Sir Differel's estate came from here. Flora includes wild flowers, such as common bluebell and St. John's wort; various grasses and sedges, such as meadow grass and false brome; fungi, such as mushrooms; and trees and shrubs, such as oak, chestnut, and gooseberry. Fauna consists of birds, such as tawny owl, crows, woodpeckers, and song birds; insects, such as butterflies, ants, and bees; other invertebrates, such as spiders, snails, and slugs; amphibians, such as frogs; reptiles, such as lizards and snakes; and mammals, such as roe and muntjac deer; badgers; foxes; squirrels; and wild boar. Unfortunately, centuries of mismanagement, such as planting conifers for timber, cutting down saleable trees, abandoning the coppices, decimating the wildlife, putting in roads and ditches for timber exploitation, and indiscriminately spraying herbicides, have left the woods in a state of neglect, but efforts are currently underway to restore its health. [Back]

The following links provide more detailed information on the support stations:

We Hold the Line, and This Line Shall Not Be Crossed!